Oh, Deer! Evacuation

You’re probably familiar with a popular superstition that a black cat crossing your path brings you bad luck? Well, but what if it’s a deer we’re talking about?

20160106_122556

ONE. I was out and about for my jogging (aka trotting) session on an early Saturday morning midday, I was deep into my thoughts when I was startled right out of my running shoes by a horny creature crossing paths with me – a rather impressive deer (Ok, OK more like a roebuck, but who cares, especially since deer sounds so much better 😉 ) jumped right in from of me from the woods, crossed my path and then stood in a little bit deeper in the brush looking back at me as if taunting. With my heart finally back to it’s proper place instead of trying to break free right through my throat, and the dare still still, I hurriedly patted my pockets for a phone hoping to take a snapshot of the creature. Alas no such luck – yet another example that if there’s something really extraordinary and worth a photo, I usually don’t have a camera on me. Ah, well, at least the deer was gracious enough after frightening me with his sudden arrival to stay in one place for my eyes to feast on him 🙂

TWO. Later on that very same day I’ve walked to Maxima for some groceries shopping. I was half way through my shopping list, when an urgent announcement came though the speakers – ‘Attention shoppers! This is not a drill. Please leave your shopping and evacuate the premises immediately.’ Whoa! Evacuation it is, so I did as I was asked – left my shopping basket where I stood and fast tracked to the exit. Empty handed, but safe and sound.

THREE. A friend messaged me asking if I’d like to go out, and it being a Saturday evening I willingly agreed what with all the excitement of being evacuated and deer’ed 🙂 But just as I’m about to go out I notice that my favorite winter shoes have just decided it’s time to retire. Dang it! I loved those shoes, and now I need to get a new pair. And shoe shopping is the worst IMO.

CONCLUSION. A new piece of superstition – seeing a dare cross your path brings an evacuation experience on your head topped with some shoe emergency. Hm, I think I’d rather stick to the ol’ regular black cat 😉

About somewonderland

While sometimes world may seem grey, in twilight's grey all the colors are hidden. Learning to find those colors is like making a collage from many and many scraps - it may seem hard, pieces might not fit at the first glance, but that scraps come together in the end. If you enjoy what you find, don't be shy.
This entry was posted in events, just for fun, scraps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

