A pie connection

There was never any lack of fresh eggs, veggies or just jars with various canned/dried goods in our home when I was a kid. How could there be?! Both pairs of grandparents kept not so small farms after all, so come autumn our basement storage room would be bulging with jars upon jars, layers upon layers of vegetables, boxes on boxes of apples and pears. Well, you probably get the picture. Actually, there was so much of everything for just the four of us to consume, that my mom was always giving some of the goodies away to anyone willing. And some who weren’t all that keen to receive such a package… well, they’d get it anyway.

Cooler autumn temperatures would also mark the beginning of pie season in our home. Every Sunday my mom would make us some pie. Apple pie, blackberry pie, carrot pie, you name it. And she’d bake them pies in such quantities that we’d struggle to consume them. Except for an apple pie that is- I could wolf down apple pie all on my own and ask for seconds any time, and then in no time come back for more. I still do! And almost every school Monday was a pie Monday – if it wasn’t apple pie, I’d bring it to school and generously share it with other kids just to make sure those other kind of pies would be finally gone, and I could ask for my mom to make an apple pie 😉

DSC01471

His Royal Highness – Apple pie. Mind, I DO NOT SHARE apple pie

Nowadays, when I actually have to shop for most if not all pie ingredients, pie Sundays does not happen so often. Yet any given day might be an apple pie day! And while my calendar insists it’s still summer outside, I say it’s time to declare pie season open. DSC01468

About somewonderland

While sometimes world may seem grey, in twilight's grey all the colors are hidden. Learning to find those colors is like making a collage from many and many scraps - it may seem hard, pieces might not fit at the first glance, but that scraps come together in the end. If you enjoy what you find, don't be shy.
This entry was posted in random thoughts, scraps and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A pie connection

  1. Oooooooh….I WANT SOME! I’d certainly not complain about several “packages” 😉

    Like

  2. Expat Eye says:

    Every day is pie day! Especially apple pie! (And the shots too 😉 )

    Like

  3. Frankly, my mom used to bake so often and in such quantities, that even now years later some of my former classmates whenever I meet them nostalgically remember those pie Mondays at school. Some even claim those there the best pies ever. But surely, what do they know – I’ve never brought any apple pie to share with others 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

