August blues

It’s August already and even though tropical heat is still full on (well, at the very least until the end of the week), I can’t shake off a feeling that autumn is already sneaking up on me. Somehow when summer starts I’m always full of ideas of what to do, I’m like all set to meet thousands of new people, visit hundreds of new places, write a book or two, climb up some mountain, and whatever else there is. Yet every time when August comes and I look back on my summer it’s just yet another summer with plenty of sunshine or rain, but it’s never about conquering the top of the world in the end. Maybe early summer (May-June) sun makes me drunk with all the happiness and all these extra vitamins C and D, that I forget that this is yet another season, and it won’t last forever, not even long enough for me to pick my sorry ass up and find me some actual mountains to climb into.

Then August is here, and everything is in its place. But before August blues settle in for good, and before I’m ready to wave goodbye to my beloved summer, I’m still savoring the last bits of summer there are, and counting days before we’re going for the last trip this summer. Tents, sleeping bags and the rest of camping gear ready and at hand, bigger car arrangements made, route sort of finalized and agreed upon – I’d be ready to go in five minutes. Alas there’s still a whole week to go.

Meanwhile,  landings of flamingos can be spotted all over the city. They’re to stay until the end of the month.DSC01248 DSC01254

About somewonderland

While sometimes world may seem grey, in twilight's grey all the colors are hidden. Learning to find those colors is like making a collage from many and many scraps - it may seem hard, pieces might not fit at the first glance, but that scraps come together in the end. If you enjoy what you find, don't be shy.
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to August blues

  1. June says:

    This heat is a killer, isn’t it?! We’re in the middle of a big thunder storm right now, so hopefully that will clear things a little. Hope you have a fabulous trip!

    Like

    • Ah, I could do with a storm now. Or a bit of a rain. Though I enjoy hot weather, all this dryness and dust is getting on me. And I could do with some vacation days too – it’s so not cool to sit in a hot office and work.
      Oh, and I’m pretty sure the trip’s going to be awesome. It always is 🙂

      Like

  2. Expat Eye says:

    Have a great trip! We’re still melting here as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

