Is the Universe trying to tell me something?

While this pleasantly (Yes! Finally!) hot weather lasts I thoroughly enjoy having almost every lunch sitting on some lawn, bench or on a river bank’s ‘chair’ in a pleasant spot with some shade. A quick bite, a bottle of water and a book are now my ‘must have’ items in my bag on a work day. Only today I was late for work and in a hurry to leave home I’ve left the book at home. So when I left work for my break I’d decided to stop at a newspaper kiosk and buy a magazine instead so I’d have at least something to read. Since I wasn’t into reading Cosmo or anything of this kind, I opted for a science/popular history themed magazine to keep me occupied. I’ve bought some other items as well, paid for everything, rolled the magazine and stuffed it with the rest of the stuff into my already bulging bag and off I went to the river.

Can you imagine my surprise when instead of a semi serious popular science/history mag what I’ve discovered upon unrolling the magazine was that I’ve bought meself a wedding (WEDDING!) themed magazine? *roll eyes and slap my face* Ain’t it just better than Cosmo, or what? 😀

While there was definitely nothing for me to read in that magazine, and even pictures of ‘happy ever afters’ were more funny than anything else, I was kind of wondering, if my mom and some of my family, constantly telling me that I should do something about my sorry (in their opinion only, obv) single’s situation, did somehow managed to pull some strings and send this very same ‘get a grip and grab yerself a man at last’  message to me via universe in a form of that hideous magazine?

Well, we’ll see about that. For now I’ll stick with the observation that if weddings and ‘happy ever afters’ make you look like you’re about to be shot, are half dead with fright, frozen in botox and yet told to smile, and all of this at the same time, I’m better off on my own than ‘happy ever after’ and on a cover of a stupid magazine.

Is she frightened, too much botoxed or just held at a gunpoint or what?

Look at that waxen expression? Is she frightened, too much botoxed or just held at a gunpoint or what?

Needless to say that while the mag went straight to the trash bin, I at least had a blast of a time looking at some wedding photos and giggling all the time. Not sure though if that was wisely spent 10 Litas, but it sure works as a good anecdote 😉

About somewonderland

While sometimes world may seem grey, in twilight's grey all the colors are hidden. Learning to find those colors is like making a collage from many and many scraps - it may seem hard, pieces might not fit at the first glance, but that scraps come together in the end. If you enjoy what you find, don't be shy.
This entry was posted in just for fun, scraps and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is the Universe trying to tell me something?

  1. June says:

    Oh, dear! Even when I was planning my wedding I didn’t read wedding mags! Perhaps the universe was trying to give you a laugh rather than a hint?! 🙂

    Like

    • ha, I like that! That sure was a great laugh, though kind of a costly one 🙂 Next time I have a brain melt down, I’ll have to make sure I do not end up buying something even less worthy of my time, say fishing or knitting mag 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

