Fire!

I’ve adopted a habit of taking a walk during my lunch break, both to flex some muscles and to clear my mind. This Friday’s not an exception, only instead of an uneventful walk by the river while finalizing some Easter weekend plans over the phone with my friend, when I crossed the bridge, I’ve looked back and up, and I’ve almost dropped my phone mid sentence – this is what I’ve seen across the river:DSC00990 DSC00991Mindaugas’ apartment and office building’s roof was on fire, with bright orange flames climbing higher and higher with every gust of fresh wind. Moments later a number of fire engines with their sirens wailing loud and clear rushed to the building. Hopefully, all the damages over there are to the property only.

While I had to get going, I kept glancing back at the black column of smoke rising high above the city, and for the second time this day I almost dropped – no, not my phone this time – my jaw open in disbelief. While the roof on one side of the building was being consumed by flames, a group of persons walked out to their balcony and started… SMOKING! As if there was no fire in their building at all, as if the fire was somewhere far far away. And they seemed so unconcerned and oblivious of what was happening and why there were so many firemen around their building, that this whole picture seemed totally surreal and dreamlike to me.

Stay safe.

P.S. And have a nice Easter weekend.

About somewonderland

While sometimes world may seem grey, in twilight's grey all the colors are hidden. Learning to find those colors is like making a collage from many and many scraps - it may seem hard, pieces might not fit at the first glance, but that scraps come together in the end. If you enjoy what you find, don't be shy.
This entry was posted in events, scraps, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fire!

  1. Expat Eye says:

    Ha ha! People are crazy! Surely they should have evacuated the entire building?!
    Happy Easter to you too!

    Like

  2. June says:

    Maybe the alarm only gives off in certain sections? Not sure why I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt – they must be crazy! I’d be long gone if it was my building. Hope you have a lovely Easter!

    Like

    • I don’t think they could have missed something like 5 red fire trucks, and a huge crowd of bystanders just outside the building. And that column of smoke was also a dead give away of something burning IMO. Were it me, I’d be out of the freaking building the fastest my legs could carry me.
      Once in a while one or another American (and not only) movie/TV show, etc. makes a point of showing how people are required to evacuate if the fire alarm sounds off. In theory this should be a reality in LT too, alas for some reason people here way too often disregard all such warnings (sounds, signs), and just keep on doing what they’re doing like it’s none of their business/ it’s just a training exercise or whatever else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

