Colors of September

So it’s now a full two weeks since I’ve quit the job which was driving me quite literary crazy, and I find myself today feeling so wonderful. Yeah, of cause there are some issues, like having to find something soon before my bank account does not show all zeros, etc., but for my mind’s sake decision to quit that f* job was like one of the best I’ve ever made. And between looking for suitable vacancies, sending out some of my CVs, and going to some of them job interviews, I’m having some sort of vacation, which, it seems I’ve desperately needed. Suddenly plenty of time to do anything I want and whenever I want, provided it does not cost  a dime 😉

So the other day I took a hike to the Karoliniškės landscape reserve, which is a nice forest reserve in the neighborhood I live in. As there is another forest just less than 10 mins on foot away from my home, I usually go there and visit the reserve very very rarely. But since a couple of years ago it was advertised that the reserve was made more visitors friendly as in making some hiking routes with signs, some stairs up the steep slopes of the many and many hills out there, benches for sitting down, etc., I kind of wanted to go and see it for myself.  So finally since I now have more time than I know what to do with it (joking), I went for a little hike on a challenging terrain of the reserve.

 

Soon the easy route ended and footpaths became more like an obstacle course

Soon the easy route ended and footpaths became more like an obstacle course

coming to a crossroad I had to choose between taking a path up or down, since I usually like a bit of a challenge, I chose to go up

coming to a crossroad I had to choose between taking a path up or down, since I usually like a bit of a challenge, I chose to go

posing before the climb :)
posing before the climb up of the many steep hills to come 🙂

last chance to change my mind

last chance to change my mind

DSC00642 DSC00641DSC00644 DSC00645DSC00652 DSC00653 DSC00651

some of the hilltops have quite a view. I've forgotten that one can get a distant view of the center of the city from those hilltops

some of the hilltops have quite a view. I’ve forgotten that one can get a distant view of the center of the city from those hilltops

just add some zoom and voila

just add some zoom and voila

DSC00666 DSC00655 DSC00660

even some of the most famous landmarks of Vilnius can be seen from up there

even some of the most famous landmarks of Vilnius can be seen from up there

DSC00673 DSC00674It took me a little bit less than an hour to get from my starting point to where I intended to wrap it up, and I must say opting to go just half if not less of the available distance was a good choice. After climbing the n-th hill I was drenched in sweat and gasping for air like some fish thrown out to the shore. But it was still totally worth it 🙂

About somewonderland

While sometimes world may seem grey, in twilight's grey all the colors are hidden. Learning to find those colors is like making a collage from many and many scraps - it may seem hard, pieces might not fit at the first glance, but that scraps come together in the end. If you enjoy what you find, don't be shy.
This entry was posted in just for fun, scraps and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

